HOW TO: Be Happy (all the time)

Hey babes, welcome back! I decided to write a post all about how to be happy and positivity for the spring time, but I didn’t want it to be too long, so I broke it up into two sections. The first one was how to fight negativity  , and today I will do part two, which is how to stay positive, after you have gotten rid of the negativity. These are sort of the things that I do, to make sure that being happy is a lifestyle, instead of a mood. I hope you find this helpful.

S T A R T   Y O U R   D A Y   R I G H T

I am a strong believer in that you can tell the outcome of your day the moment that you wake up.  Therefore, if you can take precautionary steps to ensure that your day starts off on the right foot, you are generally bound to have a good day every day. Whether that works, or it doesn’t, I always like to pay attention to my morning routine, because in my case, it determines my mood for the entire day. Here’s a recent post that I wrote about how to have the best morning routine here!!

G R A T I T U D E    L O G 

Gratitude is perhaps the most important tip that I have to offer. I know it sounds really corny, but finding appreciation for the little things will change your world. I’ve recently picked up this habit of writing down 5 things that I like about my life / am grateful for every single day. It literally takes a couple of minutes at max and it has such a positive influence on you. For me personally, it reminds me that even when life seems to be falling apart, I at least have a few things that I still have and that works as a reminder that my problems are not that serious. Something else that I love about gratitude logs is that there are no guidelines for this. You can note it down in your journal, or you can write it on a used napkin and it doesn’t make a difference. This process is all about you, and learning to be happy with the things you have in your life. One day it can be having a loving caring family who looks after you, and the other it can be the accessibility you have to warm coffee. It’s all about the little things. Really.

G O O D   E N E R G I E S 

I’m sure that this is not a self-explanatory header, so I will try my best to explain it in the most simple, easy way. To me, energies are sort of your mindset, or your vibe. The theory is, that if that vibe is positive, then it will become aligned to other positive vibes, therefore bringing into your life, positive people, positive thoughts, and positive outcomes. This is otherwise known as the law of attraction. I heard all about this on my first “date” with my boyfriend, almost two years ago, and when he told me, I was shook. It’s a more complex topic to wrap your head around, but there are a ton of great resources to help educate you on it. Regardless, the point is, that if you have a positive mindset and you tell yourself that today will be a good day, then those vibrations will attract that desired outcome. As much as this sounds like I’m just making shit up, it can be backed up scientifically. When you believe that something is “yours”, you are confident and determined, which is a lot more likely to make it yours. Keeping that positive mindset and optimism will bring success to you before you know it. Do your research on it, I promise it’s fascinating! Two books that I’ve come across that talk about it are: You Are a Badass and The Four Agreements. I’m sure there are tons more!

C H A N G E   T H I N G S   U P

Something I like to do to ensure that I maintain my happiness is change things up. For me, I have noticed that when I start to fall into a rut, it is usually because I have exhausted my daily routine, and I feel like I am living the same day over and over again. My number one suggestion for this is to change things in your daily environment. This will help keep you excited for the days to follow, and motivated to keep working on your goals. So move things around.

Here are some suggestions: Change the colour of your room, move around your furniture, change your meal ideas, change the locations at which you study, change the pictures in your room, change the route you take to school, change your workouts, just change every thing every once in a while. I promise, it will feel refreshing! I like to do this every season, generally speaking. Sometimes before and sometimes after.

J O U R N A L

Another big suggestion for being happy is to journal your feelings. Now, this doesn’t need to be a 10 page essay, it can simply be a sentence. Writing things down, will surprisingly let you get a better understanding of what is going on, so it will be easier for you to track your mental health, and to see if you’re starting to be more negative. This will allow you to “catch yourself” before you start to spiral down that path.

M E D I T A T E 

Meditating is not nearly as popular as it needs to be in my opinion. I think it’s a crucial step to maintaining your happy mood for a long time. Meditation is 10 minutes of the day that you devote to yourself. All you need to do is sit down somewhere quiet and peaceful, think about your day, breath out the negative thoughts and breath in the positive ones. It allows you to reflect on your day, think about your mood and focus on the positivity you have in your life.

L I S T E N   T O  Y O U R   B O D Y

A big part of being constantly happy is listening to your body. Believe it or not, your body has its way of communicating things to you. When you’re hungry, your stomach growls. When you’re not getting enough sleep, your attention span decreases and you get bags under your eyes. When you’re dehydrated, your lips get chapped and acne starts to appear. So listen to your body. Happiness may seem like a mental health matter, but mind, body and spirit are all interconnected, so when you let one fail, all others will start to collapse with it.

These have been all my tips for making happiness a lifestyle instead of a mood. I hope you found these helpful!

~~What do you do to maintain the happiness in your life?

Until next time,

Georgia X

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | PREVIOUS POST | RELATED

15 thoughts on “HOW TO: Be Happy (all the time)

  1. THIS POST!!! thanks so much for this, I’ve been having a bit of a down day today but I’m not sure why! I just need to have a positive mindset and I’ve always wanted to learn how to meditate!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh my gosh! you made my day!! I’m glad I could help! Feel better soon ❤ & girl, meditating is alot easier than seems. Just find a good quiet spot (your bed at night, your balcony, your bathtub) and just clear your mind, however you think works best. There is also guided meditation on YouTube where someone tells you what to do, and its very helpful for your first time!! Thanks for stopping by xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The good energies one is soooo vital for me. I totally understand 100% of what you mean, I tend to “judge” or feel for people according to the energy they exude. I always say if you exude good energy then good vibes will come right back to you. It’s so crazy how you can literally just feel someone’s aurora and know the feeling they are feeling. I also love the idea of a journal. I know that blogging helps me a lot but I also do keep a side journal for occasions that I just want to let out feelings, thoughts, or emotions and since writing is my outlet I find peace when I do write it down! Great positive post ❤

    xo, JJ

    Like

  3. I really liked this a lot. I also believe it’s so important to start off every day on a good foot. I like to listen to happy music in the morning, eat my favorite breakfast, or drive with the windows down to get me in a good mood.
    Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

