Happy Easter ♡

Hey babes, welcome back! Today is Easter Sunday, which is a super important date in the Greek Orthodox religion. It represents a lot of things, which I won’t bother getting into, because if you know, you know and if you don’t, you don’t.

The Greek culture involves numerous traditions that we have been practicing in my family since I was a baby. As a result Easter is always a really nice holiday for me, because those same traditions remind me of my childhood years and get me flooded with memories. 

On Thursday, we always gather and die boiled eggs one of the three colours red, blue and green. Typically it’s supposed to be only red, but many families with children make it more interesting and die it those three colours instead of having them all be red.

On Friday we typically go to Church at night, and the church is always nicely decorated. Unfortunately this year we couldn’t as we had other obligations with work etc, but going to church is huge part of the tradition

IMG_0930.JPG

On Saturday we go to church at around 10.30 and stay there until midnight, at which time we head home and break our fast. We crack eggs, and have a special soup that we only have that night.

IMG_0916.jpg

On Sunday morning, family gathers and we cook lamb and a couple of other unique foods, as indicated by the tradition. Music is usually playing loudly, and the people usually drink a lot of wine and dance to the music. Easter Sunday is a time of family bonding. Everyone is happy, having fun, eating good food whilst dancing. We usually have family come from all over the country in one place, so it’s a good time to see everyone and get caught up in family matters.

A tradition specific to my family, is we always have the first ice cream of the year on Easter Sunday. We have been doing this since we were kids, and I guess it stuck with us. That’s another reason why Easter Sunday is a special day for me (aha)

The events that come on Sunday evening, on the contrary, are not too exciting. After all the guests have finished eating and dancing, many head home to their towns, and all that is left is a huge pile of dishes and garbage. It sucks to be the person hosting the gathering, as cleaning after 20 people is hard, but I mean, nothing comes without a catch.

IMG_0918.jpg

Tomorrow is my name day, which basically is a day in which you celebrate your name and the saint with that name. Each name is assigned a specific date which stays consistent every year (in most cases). Mine is unique because it is always the Monday after Easter Sunday, however Easter changes every year, and so does my name day. In some parts of Greece (the more traditional ones), the name day is almost more important than your birthday, and is taken very seriously nation wide. On your name day, instead of receiving gifts, you are supposed to take people out and take care of the bill for them. Whether that is for coffee or drinks depends on the age. Thankfully for me, I don’t work full time, so my parents are expected to give me the money for that as a sign of support.

All in all, this weekend has been wonderful. Seeing family that I haven’t seen in months or years is always awesome. No matter what situation you might be in, family is very important. Don’t forget that. Love you all, I hope you enjoyed Easter, whether you celebrate it or not. How did you spend your long weekend?

Until next time,

Georgia

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’ | PREVIOUS POST | RELATED

 

4 thoughts on “Happy Easter ♡

  1. Girl you are looking so good in that black dress!!! Where is it from? I just bought one almost identical to that but in red from Lulu’s. Love reading about your families holiday traditions and I love that you all still keep it alive! Especially the first ice cream…..noww I see why you look forward to this holiday 😉 I must say though, lamb is one of my favorites, I don’t have it often but when I do I definitely indulge! lol Glad you had a lovely Easter ❤

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

