How to Reach Your Goals in 2017 | Lifestyle

Hey, hi, hello 🙂 A few posts ago I talked to you guys about my goals for the new year, and soon after I realized that almost everyone makes new years resolutions, however most people dont stick to them.

As a result, I decided to gather all my personal tips and tricks that have made me stick to my goals over the years, and also tips that I have learned from other people to provide you guys with the best guide  to help you reach your goals this year

FullSizeRender.jpg

STEP ONE: GET INSPIRED

I know it’s easy to just set general goals for the year that are popular such as work out more, or eat healthy etc, however it’s important to remind yourself that you are unique in your own way, and therefore your goals will differ from the goals of others. So actually take time to figure out what it is exactly what you want from your life, and then build your goals based on that.

A way to do this is to think of someone you know or someone you have heard of, someone who’s life you look at and think “Damn I wish I had that”, and from that, identify exactly what it is you desire to have in your own life and take a note of it. You can also use various Social Media accounts such as Pinterest and We Heart It as well in order to get inspired.

IMG_0322.JPG

STEP TWO: WRITE IT DOWN

This is (in my opinion) the most important step of the entire process. During this time, think of why you want the things that you listed and make sure that your reasoning is healthy. For example you don’t want your goals to be “because this person has it and I just want it”. This will later motivate you to keep going, and to not just give up a few weeks or months down the road.

IMG_0321.JPG

STEP THREE: CREATE VISUAL REMINDERS

It’s super easy to just get caught up in your daily routine and forget all about your resolutions. Therefore, it’s important for you to ensure you have constant reminders in your daily environment of your goals, as you will be more likely to stick to them. This is my favorite part of the process because it gives you space to be as creative as you wish. I like to desplay my visual boards in various places around my room, like in my office area, on my laptop, in my journal etc.

IMG_0319.JPG

STEP FOUR: BREAK IT UP INTO CHUNKS & SCHEDULE IT IN

In order to not get overwealmed by all the things we wish to do in one year, its very important that every goal is divided into little tiny sections, that are completed slowly but surely. This will not only make you feel accomplished daily because you will feel like you’re taking steps to achieve your goals every day, but it’s also not putting alot of pressure on you that you have a huge list of things to achieve. For example, instead of saying “I want a toned body” and feeling almost threatened by your goal, break it up into little chunks like “Today I will do 30 sqauts and tomorrow I will do some yoga”.

It’s equally as important to actually schedule in time for those little chunks of things you want to accomplish. Remember that since this is something you wish to change, tha mean you have never made time for it before, and therefore you will need to change around your schedule a bit to ensure these small tasks are being completed. It also makes it very specific for you, so that you know exactly what you need to do each day in order to get to your final goal.

IMG_0323.JPG

STEP FIVE: TRACK YOUR PROGRESS

The most common and simple way to do this is by writting it down in a notebook, or checking it off a list, however that can get boring quite easily. The way I like to keep track of my progress is by finding a “buddy” for each little task I need to complete. If your goal is to work out, then find a “gym buddy”. If you want to read more books, maybe join a book club. If you want to reduce the amount of money you spend on clothes, then tell one of your friends and ask them to make sure you’re not doing any unecessary shopping. Also, it’s just super fun to be achieving your goals with a friend, and it makes the struggle a lot less stressful. Two is always better than one 🙂

Side Note: Please remember to set realistic goals and to not be too harsh on yourself. It’s important to achieve your goals, yes, but it’s more important to be happy and content with yourself. Rome wasn’t build in a day either. Also don’t forget to reward yourself along the way and appreciate your own hard work and I promise you that it will pay back if you put effort into it.

Those are all the steps I take and seem to have worked for me over the years, so I hope you found them helpful. If you have any other tips please leave them in the comments because I’d love to know and it also might be helpful to other people reading through the comments!

If you liked it, leave me some positivity in the comments to make my day<33

Love you to the moon & back

Georgia X

Let’s be friends:  TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | WE HEART IT | PREVIOUS POST | MORE ORGANIZATION

Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 9.42.22 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-25 at 9.24.34 PM.png

3 thoughts on “How to Reach Your Goals in 2017 | Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

